Q Transmissions

Next Show: Paranormal Investigations

Posted in upcoming shows by Desiree on January 11, 2009

Ghost hunters have been around as long as people have thought there were ghosts. For these guys, scary sounds and bumps in the night are an adventure, not a nightmare.

Armed with only their electromagnetic field meters and thermal cameras, these brave souls journey to places where the faint of heart fear to tread.

But is it for real? Is there any science behind the search for cold spots and orbs? Or is it just wishful thinking?

Next episode we’ll be speaking with the members of E.C.H.O.E.S., “Edmonton Cursed or Haunted Observation and Examination Services”. Facebook group here.

Check out Edmonton’s gang of ghost hunters on the next Q Transmissions, every Friday at 6pm.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jeff Anderson (ECHOES) said, on January 16, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Wow. Being on the radio was a little more pressure than I though it would be. 🙂

    Thanks alot to Desiree & Heather for having us, and I just thought this could be a forum to clear up a couple of things.
    I went in with so much I wanted to say, that I kinda messed it up.

    The dynamics of sound were not the point. The way sound echoes was the point.
    It’s just a rudimentary hypothesis that may explain the idea of “Residual Hauntings”.
    Like I said, I **try** to approach this subject like an Amateur Scientist.

    By gathering empirical evidence, and proving or disproving it’s validity, we move towards a possible conclusion.

    One thing I meant to talk about on the air, was the room at Weyburn Mental Hospital that has the reputation of being “The Room That Will NOT Be Photographed”.

    1st – The room also has the rep of having people hearing footsteps behind them. The first thing we noticed was that there was a zillion year old hardwood floor. After about 3 steps, the way the flooring creaked and popped we could for sure see how people thought they heard footsteps.

    2nd – We did not get a single picture of the room. I left my video camera recording, and Lisa and I both took a number of photos. When I returned to pick up the camera, not only was it not recording, but it was manually turned OFF. I am 99.9% positive that it was on and recording when I walked away, the red light was on and the screen said “REC”. There was exactly ZERO recorded.
    As for Lisa & I’s photos, Lisa is notorious for taking a CONTROL shot on every picture that she takes. I know for 100% sure that I took pics in there. Afterwards, when we went to look at them, they weren’t black, they weren’t out of focus…
    They weren’t there, like as if they had never been there.

    Is there even a remote possibility that we FORGOT to take pics?
    I guess there is.

    Is it possible that I screwed up and didn’t do the video camera thing right?
    I guess there is.

    But that’s ALOT of coincidences in ONE room.
    Look at the website, we took (I think it was), 480 pictures of the place, and we FORGOT to take pics of “The Room That Would Not Be Photographed”??

    I guess it’s Possible.
    But it is NOT probable.
    And knowing us, as I do, it is not even plausible.

    Drop us a line if you’re interested,
    http://www.zedmonton.org/echoes.html

    or e-mail us at:
    edm.echoes@gmail.com

  2. Desiree said, on January 18, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Thanks for being on the show Jeff, and for the additional information.

    I hope some of the other skeptics decide to take E.C.H.O.E.S up on their offer to participate in an investigation. We sure will… after it gets a bit warmer. 🙂

  3. Michael Cridge said, on January 18, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    I just wanted to say thankyou for posting this.


Leave a Reply

